# HESKETH ARMS BOWLING CLUB SUMMER 2013

#### CHAIRMAN'S MESSAGE

As another season comes to a close I would like to take this opportunity to thank all my fellow committee members and the team captains for all the hard work they have put in over the season. I would also like thank every single member of the Club for their continued support. Please feel free to call me at anytime if there is something about the club that you would like to discuss on 07761733024. **Chris Harding** 

## **AUGHTON LEAGUE**

Congratulations to Richard Rawcliffe and his Kestrels team on winning the 2<sup>nd</sup> Division of the Aughton and District Men's Senior Citizens' League by an impressive margin of 28 points. This was quite an achievement as it was the team's first season in this division having won the 3<sup>rd</sup> Division in 2012.

The Kestrels' team merit was keenly contested, with five players winning 10 or more games but the winner, with 14 wins out of 16 games played, was Roy Wignall. Congratulations to Roy, who was playing his first full season in this team.

In the 3<sup>rd</sup> Division, the Hawks also had a decent season, finishing in 5<sup>th</sup> place, just 1 point behind the team in 4<sup>th</sup> place. Thanks go to Jerome Wilson, who took on the captaincy of this team following the retirement of the previous captain, Norman Parry.

The winner of the team merit for the Hesketh Hawks was Leo Tobin.

# 2<sup>nd</sup> Division

1. Hesketh Kestrels	137
2. Aughton Town Green	109
3. Aughton Institute 'A'	107
4. Burscough RBL	104
5. Victoria Park 'B'	99
6. Sandbrook	93
7. Crossens	82
8. Maghull Vets	79
9. Cockbeck Seniors	75

**Merit Winner: Roy Wignall** 

# 3<sup>rd</sup> Division

1. Formby Cons	159
2. Dog & Gun	123
3. Scarisbrick B.C.	121
4. Kensington House	97
5. Hesketh Hawks	96
6. Ormskirk Park	88
7. Aughton Institute 'B'	83
8. Tin Tab Seniors	78
9. Cockbeck Vets	45

**Merit Winner: Leo Tobin** 

## AWARDS AND SOCIAL EVENING

To be held at

# **Churchtown Conservative Club**

Saturday 19th October 2013 starting at 7.30pm prompt

Bingo, Quiz, Raffles Pie & Peas & Pudding Tickets only £ 3.00

All monies raised will go to club funds.

Tickets available from Team Captains

#### **ADVERTISING BOARDS**

The introduction of advertising boards has provided the Club with a useful source of additional income and the Club is indebted to George Hitchmough and Mike Burrill for their hard work in getting this project off the ground.

Should anyone know of any local businesses that might be interested in taking one of these boards for next year, please inform George, Mike Burrill or any other member of the Committee.

In the meantime, please support those businesses that are supporting our Club.

## **CLUB COMPETITIONS**

The Club was again able to complete a full programme of competitions during the 2013 season. These were again well-supported and proved to be very enjoyable afternoons.

The successful competitors were:-

Winner(s) Runner(s)-Up

Rose Bowl Jim Halsall Barry Coates

Spring Pairs Brian Coleman & Mike Milne &

Joan Wellard Alex Rimmer

Coronation Cup Ted Moule Sue Davies

Vice-Presidents Trophy Brian Jones & Fred Mitchell &

Steve Mann Dave Pennington

Vice-President's Plate Len Mann & Leo Tobin

President's Cup Mark Rowlinson Alex Rimmer

President's Day Plate Bill Nowell

Chairman's Shield Margaret Langley & Alan Bond &

Ray Sutton Jim Finnimore

Chairman's Plate Sue Davies & Geoff Rimmer

Championship Cup Kevin Leddy Brian Sutton

Diamond Jubilee Plate Fergal Wright

#### PRESIDENT'S DAY

At the end of June the Club held it's first President's Day, hosted by Bill and Irene Nowell. Many thanks to Irene, Pat Jones and Betty Plant who provided excellent refreshments.

A raffle was also organised and in total £143 was raised towards club funds.

The main competition was won by Mark Rowlinson, who overcame Alex Rimmer 21-19 in a close final.

## CHURCHTOWN CONSERVATIVE CLUB

The Bowling Club was pleased to once again play host to the Churchtown Conservative Club and it's members when they competed for their Chairman's Cup, the current Chairman of the Conservative Club being Graham Meadow, who is a regular player for our Burscough League team.

At the end of an enjoyable day's bowling, the Chairman's Cup was won by Ray Lowe and Mike Milne, who defeated Mike Ashton and Wayne Meadow 21-15 in the final.

#### **WEBSITE AND E-MAIL ADDRESSES**

Thanks are due to our Club Secretary, George Hitchmough, for keeping our website up-to-date. Please remember to follow the Club's activities at:-

#### www.hesketharmsbowlingclub.co.uk

Due to the increasing costs of postage, the Club are looking to communicate as much as possible via e-mail. If you are not on the current e-mail list, please inform us of your contact details by e-mailing:-

secretary@hesketharmsbowlingclub.co.uk

# TEA AND COFFEE

Members are reminded that tea and coffee making facilities are available and that a contribution of 30p per cup should be placed in the tin provided. These drinks are not intended to be free - the charge is to cover expenses only.