Posted on


Chairmans Shiels Winners 2012 John McGurk Margaret Eustace
A good turnout of 34 members and guests competed on Sunday for The Chairman’s Shield. This is a doubles competition, with the pairings being drawn out randomly. It was pleasing to see that all the Club’s teams were represented at this event.
There were some close games in the early rounds, most notably a 21-19 win for Phil Kitchen and John Stennett over Norman Parry and Ray Sutton and a 21-20 defeat for George Hitchmough and Chris James against Bill Nowell and Rita Stanley. After winning these tight games, both the winning pairs were to fall at the quarter-final stage. John and Phil were defeated 21-16 by Steve Mann and John Unsworth, while Bill and Rita lost 21-18 to Sue Andersen and Pat Miller, having looked likely winners at one stage.
The first semi-final saw Steve Mann and John Unsworth face Jim Huyton and Eileen Rawcliffe, who had enjoyed impressive wins against Richard Rawcliffe and Mavis Thompson (21-7) and Eileen Curtis and Mark Rowlinson (21-10). Despite losing two out of the first three ends, it was Steve and John who established a crucial lead of 16-10 by winning 7 consecutive ends. Although Jim and Eileen fought back with five singles it was Steve and John who went through to the final, winning 21-15. This was an impressive performance as Steve only joined the Club this week, having played in the Conservative Club’s President’s Trophy last Sunday.
The second semi-final saw Margaret Eustace and John McGurk get off to a flying start, scoring four at the first end but it was Sue Andersen and Pat Miller who were able to establish a lead of 16-13 with three successive 2s. At this stage, however, John and Margaret regained their earlier form and were able to score eight chalks in four ends to win through to the final 21-16.
The final was expected to be a close battle but the experienced pair of Margaret Eustace and John McGurk were able to continue in the form they had been displaying all afternoon, scoring five 2s and two 3s to take The Chairman’s Shield by a margin of 21-7.  The Club Chairman, Chris Harding, was on hand to make the presentations and congratulated all those involved in another successful competition at The Hesketh Arms.
Posted on


Jon Roberts Ray Lowe Winners Churchtown Conservative Club Presidents Bowls Competition
Congratulations to Ray Lowe and Jon Roberts, both members of our Club, who won the Churchtown Conservative Club’s B.J.P.O’Malley President’s Trophy on Sunday, beating Tony Livesey and Dave White 21-11 in the final.
15 pairs took part in the event, which was held at The Hesketh Arms. The Consolation competition for 1st Round losers was won by Chris Harding and Steve Mann, who beat Fran Stillwell and John Unsworth in the final
Posted on


Members are reminded that there are still a few more events to take place at the Hesketh Arms before the season comes to a close.
Details of all the forthcoming events can be found in the Summer Newsletter. Which can be accessed from the website. (Summer12 _2_)
The first event is due to take place this Sunday, 22nd July, starting at 1.00pm, when we will be playing for The Chairman’s Shield.
Members are reminded that guests and friends from other Clubs are welcome to take part in this competition, which is a doubles event where the pairings are drawn at random
Posted on


Coronation Cup Winner 2012 "Leo Tobin"

A break in the poor weather conditions allowed 22 members to compete for the Coronation Cup on Sunday 1st July. This was not a bad turnout considering that several of our regular competitors were helping out at a junior bowling event at the Botanic Gardens.

In the top half of the draw, Pat Higgins progressed to the semi-final stage with closely fought wins against George Hitchmough (21-17) and Keith Jones (21-17). His semi-final opponent was to be Hesketh Hawks’ Captain Norman Parry, who reached the semis with comfortable wins against Richard Rawcliffe (21-11), Eileen Rawclife (21-8) and Alan Bond (21-9). This semi-final was expected to be a tight game and so it proved. Despite Pat leading 13-7 and 15-12, it was Norman who took the lead at 19-18 but was unable to get the two chalks he needed to reach the final as Pat won the last two ends of the game to win through to his second final of the season.
Coronation Cup Finalists 2012 Leo Tobin & Pat Higgins

The bottom half of the draw saw Leo Tobin reach the semi-final with wins against Sue Davies (21-13) and Pat Jones(21-16). Leo’s opponent in the semi-final was the experienced Bill Nowell, who had beaten Eric Groom (21-10) and Joe Parker (21-16). Having an advantage of 2 chalks on the handicap, Leo established an early lead which he was able maintain throughout the match to reach the final by a 21-14 margin.

Both Leo and Pat had been beaten finalists in Hesketh singles competitions before, guaranteeing a new name on the Club’s Roll of Honour. It was Pat who started strongly in the final and after 10 ends had established a 14-9 lead, having scored five 2s. At this point though, Leo found his form and won the next five ends to take the lead at 15-14. Pat was unable to recover the lead as Leo was able to score another couple of 2s in gaining the 6 chalks required, the final score being 21-17.
A Plate competition was held for 1st Round losers and this was won by Richard Rawcliffe who defeated Brian Jones 21-15 in the final.
The Next competition will be The Chairman’s Shield, to be held on Sunday 22nd July. This will be a pairs competition in which pairings will be drawn at random. Members’ guests are welcome to take part in this event