Posted on

Awards Evening 2015

Awards Evening 2015
Many thanks to all those members and guests who attended the Club’s awards and social evening last Saturday. Thanks must also go to the Chairman and Committee of the Churchtown Conservative Club for the use of their excellent facilities .
The evening, which was hosted by Chris Harding, began with the club awards, which were presented by our President, Ray Sutton.
In addition to the presentation of prizes for the Club’s competitions, which have been reported on the website throughout the season, awards were also presented to the Merit winners for each of the Club’s teams. These were:-
Eagles (LV Premier Division) – Mike Milne
Falcons (LV 1st Division) – Dave Caunce
Harriers (LV 1st Division) – Jim Finnimore
Ospreys (Burscough 2nd Div) – Mark Rowlinson
Kites (Parks 1st Division) – Jim Halsall
Kestrels (Aughton 1st Division) – Jim Finnimore
Hawks (Aughton 3rd Division) – George Hitchmough
Merlins (Southport Vets 3rd Division) – Jim Finnimore
The presentation of prizes concluded with the announcement by the Club Chairman, Chris Harding, of the Club’s special awards. The first award is for the Team of the Year, which for 2015 went to the Kites. This team, captained by Brian Mycock, had been promoted to the 1st Division of the Southport Parks League for 2015 and performed creditably to end the season in 4th position. The Club Member of the Year award went to John Stennett in recognition of all his hard work on behalf of the Club over many years, including captaining the Harriers in the LV League.
This year there was an extra special announcement when it was revealed that Jim Finnimore had been made a Life Member of the Club. This well-deserved honour is to recognize the outstanding contribution that Jim has made to the Club over a number of years.
Photographs to follow