Posted on


Congratulations to the Hesketh Vultures on winning the Burscough League Knockout Trophy, defeating Burscough RBL ‘A’ 6-2 in the final at Holmeswood.

This is the second time the Vultures have won this competition, having won it at the first attempt back in 2017. It completes a fine season for the team, narrowly missing out on retaining the 1st Division Championship, finishing just four points behind Banks St. Stephen’s. Congratulations to captain, Chris Harding and all the players. 

Posted on


Hi, it’s Dave Bannister’s (Banny’s) granddaughter here Natalie, passing on the details for his funeral.

It will take place on Monday 6th November.

My grandad did not wish for everyone to be in black, 

he requested for those attending to wear something blue.

Details as follows:

10am- Main service at Holy Family Church- 1 Brompton Road PR86AS.

11am- followed with a smaller family and close friends service at Southport crematorium. -159 Southport Road PR85JQ.

The wake will then take place at the Fleetwood Hesketh, Fylde Rd, Southport PR9 9XH. Access to the venue will be available from 10:45. Food will be available once service at the crematorium  is complete, approximately around 12:00/12:30.

Posted on


I regret to inform you that DAVE BANNISTER (Banny) passed away earlier today.

Dave was a long-standing member of the Hesketh Arms for many years and played for several of our teams.

Dave organised the town and country competition over recent years and was well known to the bowling fraternity in and around Southport.

I have no further details for now and I will keep you informed should I get further information.

We send our condolences to Daves’ family.

Posted on



Congratulations to Darren Edgerley on retaining the Coronation Cup, overcoming Chris Porter in the final. This singles handicap has been played throughout the season and the final turned out to be between two of the best players in the club and was a fitting finale to the club’s programme of internal competitions.

Chris started off well in the final, winning the first three ends but Darren won the next five ends to lead 8-3. Although Chris had several runs with the jack and closed the gap to 17-18 at one stage, Darren held on to the lead for the rest of the game to take the title with a 21-17 win.

Thank you to everyone who took part in this competition and helped to complete it by organising their games. Many thanks also to Club President, Peter Smith, who was on hand to mark the final and present the Coronation Cup to Darren.



Following the final league games of the season, the green has now been closed to allow for the essential annual maintenance work to take place. Many thanks to our greenkeeper, Andy Bate, who has done a great job in ensuring that the green has been in excellent playing condition throughout the season. It was particularly pleasing to receive positive feedback from bowlers coming from outside the local area to play in our open doubles and singles competitions. We look forward to the green being in top condition again next Spring, ready for the 2024 season.


Many thanks again to Peter and Lynne Smith, along with all those who helped throughout the season, for running the regular Round Robins. These sessions, which are held every Tuesday and Friday mornings, are a very important part of the Club’s programme of events and provide members with an opportunity to enjoy social bowling and meet up with other members of the Club.


Eleven club competitions were staged in 2023 and five new names were added to the Club’s Roll of Honour. These were Steve McManus (Rose Bowl), Andy Draper (Vice-Presidents Trophy & Championship Cup), Noreen Lewis (Ladies’ Championship), Alan Hatton (Chairman’s Shield) and Graham Meadow (Chairman’s Shield).

We look forward to running a full programme of events again in 2024.


The fourth staging of the Hesketh Arms’ Champion of Champions will take place at the beginning of the 2024 season. For this event, all the club competition and merit winners from the previous season are invited to take part and the trophy presented to the winner is the “Blowick Cup”, which was previously played for at the old Blowick Hotel Bowling Club. 

The qualifiers for 2024 are as follows :-

Kez Adams – Spring Pairs ; Floodlit Trophy

Sue Andersen -Spring Pairs

Dave Bedford – Last Chance Cup

Bill Bloor – Falcons Merit ; Merlins Merit ; Hawks Merit

Andy Draper – Vice-Presidents Trophy ; Championship Cup

Darren Edgerley – President’s Cup ; Floodlit Trophy ; Coronation Cup ;

      Owls Merit ; Vultures Merit

Jim Halsall – Eagles Merit ; Kites Merit ; Ospreys Merit

Alan Hatton – Chairman’s Shield ; Sparrowhawks Merit

John Hughes – Hobbies Merit

Noreen Lewis – Ladies’ Championship ; Buzzards Merit

Steve McManus – Rose Bowl

Graham Meadow – Chairman’s Shield

Mike Milne – Blowick Cup

Brian Sutton – Last Chance Cup ; Kestrels Merit

Fergal Wright – Vice-Presidents Trophy

Over Winter Maintenance

 We will need your help with clearing the green of leaves some pruning and a general tidy up for the winter months.

We hope you will be able to assist when required.