Posted on

Awards Evening

Many thanks to all those members who supported the Club’s fifth annual Awards Evening, held on Bonfire Night at the Churchtown Conservative Club.

The evening commenced with the presentation of awards to successful participants in the Club’s annual competitions and team merit winners, which have been reported throughout the season on the website and in recent newsletters. They were presented by our President, Ray Sutton and concluded with the announcement of two special awards :-

In revealing the Club’s Team Of The Year, Chairman Chris Harding explained that this had been a difficult decision as several of our league teams had enjoyed a successful season. The Eagles had finished Runners-Up in the LV Premier Division and the Kestrels had bounced back into the top flight of the Aughton League by winning the 2nd Division Championship. However, after due consideration, the award went to the Merlins for their double success in gaining promotion to the 2nd Division of the Southport Veterans League and winning the Joe Bond Trophy. Congratulations to captain George Hitchmough and all his team.

The presentations ended with the announcement of the Club Member Of The Year. This year the award went to a member who has captained one of our league teams for several years and is always willing to help out when jobs need doing round the green. Chris Harding was pleased to announce that the Club Member Of The Year for 2016 was captain of the Kites, Brian Mycock.

After the buffet, the evening continued with a quiz, bingo and a raffle and the Committee would like to thank all those who generously donated prizes for the raffle. Thanks are also due to the following :-
The Chairman of the Conservative Club, Mr John Coney and his committee for allowing us to use their facilities.
Brian Whitley and Greg Meadow for their work behind the bar.
Jon Roberts and Mark Rowlinson for their help with the selling of raffle tickets.
John McCabe, our photographer for the night.
Lastly, special mention must be made of our Secretary, George Hitchmough, who co-ordinated the arrangements for the whole evening, including the slide presentation, setting the quiz and organising the refreshments with the help of Sue Andersen. Club Chairman, Chris Harding, made a presentation of flowers to Sue in appreciation of her contribution towards making the event a success.

Thanks to the support of our members, the evening raised a total of £363.35, which will go towards club funds. We look forward to seeing you all early in the New Year at our AGM as we prepare for another season of bowling at the Hesketh Arms.