Posted on

Awards Evening


Many thanks to all those who supported the Club’s Awards & Social Evening on Saturday, which took place at the Churchtown Conservative Club. The evening was held to celebrate members’ achievements from the 2023 season. 

As usual the evening was compered by our Chairman, Chris Harding, who announced the winners and runners-up in our internal competitions and the team merit awards. The prizes were presented by our 2023 President, Peter Smith. These were reported through the website and regular newsletters throughout the year and congratulations go to all the successful players. 

The final presentations are made to the Team of the Year and the Club Member of the Year. The Team of the Year award went to the Vultures, who had another excellent season in the Burscough & Lathom League. Having won the 1st Division Championship in 2022, they put up a strong defence of their title but in the end had to settle for the runners-up spot, finishing just four points behind champions Banks St. Stephen’s. They did, however, win the League’s Knockout Trophy, defeating Burscough RBL ‘A’ in the final, played at Holmeswood Bowling Club. 

The Club Member of the Year for 2023 deservedly went to Jeff Brown. Jeff has been captain of the Falcons in the Southport LV League for several years and last year took over running the Hobbies in the Southport Veterans’ League at very short notice. Out league teams would be unable to function without people willing to organise them and we thank Jeff for all that he has done over the years.

The awards were followed by a buffet, prepared by Gill from the Conservative Club and a quiz arranged by Chris Harding, with our Vice-Chairman Jason Chapman taking on the role of Quiz Master. 

The Committee would also like to thank the following : –

Simon Abram, the Chairman of the Conservative Club and his committee, for allowing us to use their excellent facilities.

Gill, the Club Steward, for preparing the buffet. Also, to Lilly, for her hard week behind the bar throughout the evening.

Debbie Barnes, for kindly donating desserts.

Kez Adams and Darren Edgerley for their help selling raffle tickets.

Finally, thank you to all those who supported the evening by attending, bringing raffle prizes or contributing donations. We look forward to seeing everyone at the green and wish all our members a successful and enjoyable bowling season in 2024.