Posted on


Bernard O’Malley Trophy – Open Pairs
Sunday saw a full entry of 32 pairs take part in the Club’s third open doubles competition, for which the winners are presented with the Bernard O’Malley Honorary Vice-President’s Trophy.
There was local interest all the way through as Jon Roberts, playing with Bill Roddan from the Zetland, reached the final with impressive wins against Steve McManus and Neil Noren (21-18), Noreen Lewis and John Townsend (21-14), Andy Carr and John Longshaw (21-12) and in an epic semi-final, Ian Grady and Tim Hodge of Skem Rebels 21-20.
Jon and Bill’s opponents in the final were Dave and Tracy Charlesworth from Preston and they had to negotiate an even tougher route. In the first round they overcame the fancied local pair of Ray Atkinson and John Baker 21-20, before beating Brian Fairclough and Dave Martindale (21-11), Andy Fleming and Tom Wright (21-15) and in the semi-final, holders Ray Bevington and Paul Clegg 21-13.
The final started off closely with Jon and Bill leading 8-7 after six ends but two successive threes and a two put David and Tracy in control of the match to lead 15-8, eventually taking the title with a 21-11 win. Congratulations to both pairs on producing some excellent performances throughout the competition.
Many thanks to all those who supported the competition and to everyone who helped with marking cards, measuring and calling games on to the green. Special thanks though to referee Graham Pickavance whose help was invaluable in ensuring the smooth running of the competition. The standard of bowling throughout the day was of the highest standard on a tricky, fast running green and was a fitting tribute to our Honorary Vice-President, Mr. Bernard O’Malley. We look forward to running this event again in 2022.

WINNERS Dave and Tracy Charlesworth
RUNNERS UP Jon Roberts, and Bill Roddan