Posted on

Rose Bowl


Congratulations to Darren Edgerley on winning the Rose Bowl, defeating Fergal Wright in a repeat of the Open Singles final played at the end of April. Darren reached the final with wins against Roger Van Beever (21-15), Peter Croston (21-14), Jeff Brown (21-18) and Keith Maiden (21-15). Keith had enjoyed a good run to the semi-final with excellent wins against John Townsend (21-17), Derek Wignall (21-14) and Janice Hobson (21-18). 

In the bottom half of the draw, Fergal reached the final with wins against Peter Smith (21-16), Mark Rowlinson (21-7) and in the semi-final, Andy Draper (21-17). It was Fergal who got off to the better start in the final, winning five of the first seven ends to lead 10-6, having had to concede a handicap of two chalks. Darren fought back to win the next five ends to lead 13-10 and although Fergal took the lead again at 15-13, Darren was able to win seven consecutive ends to win the final 21-15. This is the second time Darren has won the Rose Bowl, having previously done so in 2011.

Rose Bowl 2022 WINNER Darren Edgerley

Runner up Fergal Wright

Semi Finalists:-

Keith Maiden

Andy Draper

A plate competition was held for those losing in their first game and this was won by George Hitchmough, who narrowly overcame Dave White 15-14 in the final. 

WINNER Plate Competition George Hitchmough

Runner Up Plate Dave White