Posted on





​Following a very limited season of league bowling in 2020, it was pleasing for our team players to be able enjoy a fuller programme of fixtures in 2021, after a delayed start due to Covid-19 restrictions. 

Below is a review summarising our teams’ performances in the various local leagues. The full league tables can be found on each league’s own website but if anyone would like to receive a printed copy of this review, including the league tables featuring our teams, please contact Mike Milne : – 

For the 2022 season, we look forward to a first for the Hesketh Arms, when we are applying to enter a team into the Southport & District Ladies’ League. Fixtures for this team will take place on Thursday afternoons. 


The Club enjoyed another successful season in the Southport LV League, with both our teams winning their respective divisions. 

The Eagles, captained by Chris Harding, won the Premier Division for the third time in succession, finishing narrowly ahead of runners-up Fleetwood Hesketh ‘A’ by just five points. 

Jeff Brown’s Falcons also finished top in the 1st Division, ahead of second placed Fleetwood Hesketh ‘B’. Well done to the Falcons, who previously won this title in 2017. 

Eagles Merit Winner – John Baker 

Falcons Merit Winner – Phil Kitchen  


Both our Burscough League teams had a fine season. In the highly competitive 1st Division, the Vultures again finished 4th, having done so in their first season in this division in 2019. They won 14 out of the 18 matches, just one fewer than champions Banks St.Stephen’s and runners-up Bretherton ‘A’. For much of the season they were in touch with the leaders and will be looking to make a strong challenge for the top positions in 2022.  

In the 2nd Division, the Ospreys, captained by Mark Rowlinson, had their best season since the team was formed, having been strengthened by some new recruits. They won 9 out of their 16 games to finish 5th in the division, only 9 points behind runners-up Zetland ‘B’.  

Vultures Merit Winner – Kez Adams 

Ospreys Merit Winner – Peter Smith  


The Kites, again under the captaincy of John Unsworth, had another competitive season in the Parks League 1st Division. They finished 3rd for the third time in four seasons, having been challenging for the top spot throughout the season. They will be aiming to push for one of the promotion places in 2022. The team also did well in the Knockout Cup to reach the final before losing out to London Sphynx ‘A’ at Scarisbrick Bowling Club.  

Kites Merit Winner – Jim Halsall 


Due to Covid-19 restrictions, the local leagues were unable to start at the beginning of April as they usually would but the Maghull League, in a joint venture with the Formby League ran a “mini-league” which got under way on 26th April. The league was for teams of eight and we were able to enter two teams. The Owls (“A” team), captained by Mike Milne, were placed in the 2nd Division and Sue Davies was captain of the new Sparrowhawks team (“B” team) in the 3rd Division.  

Both our teams performed well in this league. The Owls won 11 out of their 14 fixtures to finish in second place, one point behind champions Scarisbrick NSC. The Sparrowhawks only lost three games out of eleven played to end the season in a strong 3rd place.  

Owls Mini-League Merit Winner – Peter Smith 

Sparrowhawks Mini-League Merit Winner – George Hitchmough  


Following the conclusion of the Mini-League, the regular Maghull League season commenced on 14th June, with the league being split into two divisions for teams of ten players and two divisions for eight-a-side teams. As a club we had enough interested players to enter two teams of ten, which were again captained by Mike Milne and Sue Davies.  

The Owls (“A” team) were placed in the 1st Division, which is considered to be one the toughest divisions in the area. After a difficult start, the team found it’s form and won three matches as well as putting in some strong performances against the top teams. They ended the season with 50 points, only six points off a mid-table finish.   

Sue’s Sparrowhawks (“B” team) competed in a strong 2nd Division but won three matches, including the final game against Victoria Park, enabling them to finish above their local rivals by a single point.  

Owls Merit Winner – Jim Halsall 

Sparrowhawks Merit Winner – Jeff Brown 


The Club continued to run two teams in the Aughton League on a Wednesday afternoon, with George Hitchmough captaining the Hawks in the 1st Division and the Kestrels being led by Mike Burrill the 2nd Division. 

The Hawks put in a creditable performance to finish the season level on points with Victoria Park ‘A’ in 6th position, while the Kestrels were runners-up to champions Aughton Institute ‘A’. Depending on the format of the league next year, this may see both teams competing in the top flight next season.  

Hawks Merit Winner – Peter Smith 

Kestrels Merit Winner – Brian Sutton 


The Southport Vets League commenced it’s league programme in June and both our teams competed in the 2nd Division.  

Congratulations to captain George Hitchmough and his Merlins team, on ending  the season as champions of the 2nd Division. They won 12 out of the 16 games played to finish five points clear of runners-up Banks ‘B’. 

The Hobbies were again led by Roger Van Beever and they also enjoyed a good season, winning nine games to take a decent 5th place in the final table.  

Merlins Merit Winner – Brian Sutton 

Hobbies Merit Winner – Dave Bedford