Posted on


LADIES’ CHAMPIONSHIPCongratulations to Debbie Barnes on overcoming some tough competition to win the Ladies’ Championship on Saturday. The early stages of this event are played using a group format and the three group winners, progressing to the semi-finals, were Pat McArthur, Noreen Lewis and Sue Davies. They were joined in the last four by Debbie, who had finished runner-up to Sue Davies in Group C, having defeated reigning champion Sue Andersen 15-10. This was enough to claim the last semi-final place as the best of the runners-up. 
The semi-finals saw Noreen Lewis beat previous winner Sue Davies 15-8 and Debbie won a close match with two-time winner Pat McArthur 15-13. In a good final, which could have gone either way, Debbie was able to adapt to the wet conditions to take the title with a 15-11 win. This was Debbie’s first competition win, having joined the club last season after taking part in the Bowls for Health sessions. 
Many thanks to all those who took part in this event despite the poor weather conditions and also to those who came down and helped with marking cards and measuring. 

Runner up 2022 Noreen Lewis

CORONATION CUPThe Coronation Cup, which has been played throughout the season, was completed on Sunday with the semi-finals and final taking place in greatly improved weather conditions. 
The semi-final in the top half of the draw was between Chris Porter and Darren Edgerley. Despite having to concede a handicap of four chalks and trailing 16-6 and 19-13, Chris drew level at 19 across, only for Darren to claim the two singles he needed to progress to the final. In the other semi-final, Peter Smith was in fine form and he was able to defeat his Burscough League captain Mark Rowlinson 21-13. 
The final saw Peter continue his excellent form and he won eight of the first ten ends to lead 16-6. Darren then won the next six ends, including four 2s to draw level at 16-16, eventually winning an exciting game 21-19. 


Congratulations to all four players on providing an enjoyable finals day to the competition but in particular to Darren on his fourth competition win of the season, having previously won the Open Singles, the Rose Bowl and the Championship Cup.